The Guitar Podcast

I’m a big fan of podcasts and have been listening to them since about 2005 — I remember when the Ricky Gervais one was free! They are a great way to consume information and entertainment when you are doing something else such as commuting, household chores, working out, shopping, whatever.

Since I started this guitar blog thing, I’ve also started listening to an excellent show, with the elegantly simple moniker of The Guitar Podcast. The show is hosted by Mr. Loren Hunt, a man who clearly has a deep knowledge and passion for all things axe. I started listening around the time he did a show about the whole Partscaster idea. I believe he recorded it as an entirely unscripted monologue while driving his car somewhere (talk about multitasking!) but that’s by the by, it was jammed full of useful nuggets of information. I know I’m going to have to go back and take notes.

Loren’s latest but one show (I am gradually listening back to all the shows I missed, there’s over 60 of them) consists of him responding to listener feedback and during the course of one discussion he began talking about the five ‘essential’ or ‘foundation guitars’ which were absolutely identical to the five I picked as the Guitarchetypes. It seems great minds really do think alike!

Loren is planning to unpack his view of these five guitars over the course of upcoming podcasts and I am really looking forward to them. Unlike me, he’s a proper gigging musician and a real guitar expert with a vast amount of experience. It’s going to be very interesting to hear what he has to say.

In the same episode, he also recounted his experiences with the custom made Ruokangas guitars. A Finnish outfit that I’d shamefully never heard of before, despite having lived nearly ten years in Helsinki. I guess at $5000 per guitar they’re just a bit out of reach for me. But if I ever win that Veikkaus Lotto

So there you go, if you’re really into guitars you should subscribe to this show. It’s available on iTunes. I hyperlinked to the website earlier on, but here’s the URL in full:

http://www.theguitarpodcast.net/index.html

Leave a Reply

